BARBARA LACKRITZ AAUW SERVICE AWARD PROCEDURES

Revised: May, 2018

PURPOSE

The purpose of the Barbara Lackritz AAUW Service Award is to recognize a member who:

Upholds the mission of AAUW by advancing equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy and research.

Provides service to AAUW at local, state, regional, national and/or international levels.

Provides leadership to AAUW at local, state, regional, national and/or international levels.

Provides service and leadership in non-AAUW areas in the community, religious, professional, and/or political arenas.

RECIPIENT QUALIFICATIONS

An AAUW member for at least five years (branch or National member).

Member in good standing of a St. Louis branch (minimum of one year).

Upholds the mission of AAUW.

NOMINATION PROCESS

Each branch may nominate one person per award cycle by submitting the appropriate information and completing the application form by the designated deadline.

Nominations will not be held over from one year to the next but may be re-submitted by the branch in subsequent years.

Nomination forms must be submitted to the IBC Barbara Lackritz AAUW Service Award Chair in December.

The IBC Barbara Lackritz AAUW Service Award Committee will hereinafter be called the Committee and the IBC Barbara Lackritz AAUW Service Committee Chair will hereinafter be called the Committee Chair.

SELECTION PROCESS

The Committee will meet as designated by the Committee Chair to evaluate and rate the nominees 'qualifications as submitted on the nomination forms.

Each Committee member will rate each application/nominee on an evaluation form.

The Committee Chair will tabulate the evaluation forms at the end of the selection meeting. The nominee with the highest rating will be the recipient of the award.

The recipient's name is to be known only by the committee until February.

The Committee Chair will notify the recipient and then let the IBC members know the name of the new recipient.

THE AWARD

There will be one recipient.

The recipient will be notified about the award in February so that guests may be invited to attend the event.

The award will be presented each year at the annual IBC event.

The recipient will be given a small plaque/star/memento, or a certificate and a complimentary lunch at the IBC event.

SELECTION COMMITTEE

The IBC Chair will appoint the Committee Chair to a two-year term. The Chair must have served at least one year on the Committee and is a nonvoting member of the Committee.

By the October IBC meeting, each branch will have elected or appointed a member to the Selection Committee, making a total of five (5) members on the Committee.

Committee members will serve for two years. One half of the representatives will begin their two-year term in odd numbered years and one half of the representatives will begin their two-year term in even numbered years.

The Committee Chair will set the January meeting date to read the applications.

The IBC Chair will serve as a non-voting, ex-officio member. In the event of a tie, the IBC Chair will cast the deciding vote.

The Committee Chair will keep the recipient applications on file.

The Committee Chair will maintain the photographic journal.

IBC ANNUAL EVENT

A written program for the Barbara Lackritz AAUW Service Award will be prepared and distributed at the annual event. The program will include:

- 1. The award recipient's name and branch(es) and the date of the annual event.
- 2. A listing and thank you to the members of the Selection Committee.
- 3. A writeup of the recipient's qualifications as enumerated on the application.
- 4. A listing of past recipients, beginning with Barbara Lackritz.
 - 2003 Barbara Lackritz, Creve Coeur, Kirkwood-Webster Groves, Ballwin-Chesterfield
 - 2004 Shirley Breeze, Ferguson-Florissant and Shirl Garhart, Creve Coeur
 - 2005 Jean Shull, Kirkwood-Webster Groves

- 2006 Ella M. Bettinger, St Louis and Kirkwood-Webster Groves
- 2007 Carol Davis McDonald, St. Louis and Kirkwood-Webster Groves
- 2008 Julia Triplett, Ballwin-Chesterfield
- 2009 Lynne Roney, Kirkwood-Webster Groves and Barbara Barnett, St. Charles
- 2010 Dr. A. Patricia Shores, Ballwin-Chesterfield
- 2011 Betty Takahashi, St. Charles
- 2012 Diane Ludwig, Kirkwood-Webster Groves and St. Louis
- 2013 Barbara Butchart, Ballwin-Chesterfield and St. Charles
- 2014 Teresa (Teri) Brecht, St. Charles
- 2015 Debbie McWard, Creve Coeur, Ballwin-Chesterfield and Kirkwood-Webster Groves
- 2016 Janet A. Scott, St. Louis
- 2017 Kay Meyer, Kirkwood-Webster Grove and Ballwin-Chesterfield
- 2018 Karen Francis, Ballwin-Chesterfield and Ferguson-Florissant