IBC BARBARA LACKRITZ AAUW AWARD PROGRAM INSERT SHEET

HONOREE'S NAME Barbara Johnson

BRANCH NAME Kirkwood-Webster Grove

BRANCH PRESIDENT'S NAME Jeanne Webdell

Write one sentence about how your honoree fulfills each purpose. The information will be used to prepare the IBC Barbara Lackritz AAUW Award program insert. Turn this sheet into the IBC Chair at the November IBC Meeting.

The purpose of the IBC Barbara Lackritz AAUW Award is to recognize the branch member who:

1. Upholds the mission to advance gender equity for women and girls through research, education, and advocacy.

Barbara Johnson is a fifty-year member of AAUW, joining in 1972 after her graduation from Valparaiso University with a degree in elementary education. Barb has worked for AAUW's mission through Mo. State AAUW, her local branch and also through her job and her volunteer work at her church.

2. Provides service to AAUW at any of the local, state, regional or national level(s).

Barb has been a willing worker putting together jewelry to use for fundraising and selling pecans to raise funds for the branch STEM scholarships. She is always willing to provide a dish for any potluck or other gathering.

3. Provides leadership to AAUW at any of the local, state, regional or national level(s).

Barb has served in various leadership roles at the State, Interbranch and branch level. At the State level Barb has served as topic chairs, Education Chair, and Program Vice-President of Missouri AAUW. In 1985 she was honored as the Outstanding Member under 40. Over the years Barb has held leadership roles serving as president of K-WG and the St. Louis Branches and chair of IBC twice. Currently she serves as the funds chair of K-WG

4. Provides service and leadership in non-AAUW areas in the community, religious, professional, and/or political arenas.

Barb also has and is providing leadership and service outside of AAUW. She has held leadership positions in the Francis Howell Education Association, St. Louis NEA, Missouri NEA-Retired, and St. Louis NEA-Retired. Currently she is the Church Council President of Gethsemane Lutheran Church and was the first woman resident in the early 1990s