The Barbara Lackritz AAUW Service Award

Each year, the InterBranch Council presents the Barbara Lackritz AAUW Service Award to an outstanding AAUW area member.

Criteria for the award (See the complete requirements):

The member will:

1.  Uphold the mission of AAUW by advancing equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy and research.

2.  Provide service to AAUW at local, state, regional, national and/or international levels

3.  Provide leadership to AAUW at the above levels.

4.  Provide service and leadership in non-AAUW areas in the community, religious, professional and/or political arenas.

2020 Awardee: Mary Jermak (Ballwin-Chesterfield Branch). Click here to learn about Mary’s accomplishments in AAUW. 


The purpose of The Barbara Lackritz AAUW Service Award is to recognize the AAUW branch members in the St. Louis area who have contributed many years of selfless, dedicated service to  promote the AAUW mission. Known as Barb to all of us in AAUW and as Granny Barb to those on the Cancer listserve, this one-woman powerhouse taught us all a thing or two about how to live, and ultimately, how to let go.

Barb and husband Irv moved from New York to St. Louis in the late 60’s. Twins Pam and Hilary, and son Neal, completed the family. Barb’s Masters Degree in Special Education from Columbia University was soon put to work when she became a speech pathologist at Fairmount Elementary School in St. Peters, a position she held until 1999.

In AAUW, most of us remember Barb as a fun-loving, but tenacious, fundraiser for EF and LAF, a tireless advocate for women’s rights, a savvy politician, and a guru of the internet – a talent she used to help the entire state board, and many branches, come “on line” while Missouri State President from 2000-2002. Barb was a natural leader who served AAUW in a variety of positions at the local, state, regional, and national levels. You could never miss Barb’s enthusiasm, or her vast collection of AAUW pins, proudly displayed on her hat or vest, at any convention or conference! She was a true AAUW model.

Among her many other achievements, Barb served as alderman from 1985-1993 for Town and Country, was on the city’s planning commission, authored a book on leukemia in 2001, hosted the leukemia listserve, helped organize cancer self-help groups, and was a national speaker on Adult Leukemia to doctors, pharmaceutical firms, and patients.

In the end, Barb was taken away by the disease on June 4, 2003. But she went on her own terms – gracefully, peacefully and with dignity, surrounded by the love of her family and friends.
As printed in the Fall 2003 Missouri in Motion, the AAUW in Missouri newsletter.

Past Lackritz Award Winners:

2003 – Barbara Lackritz, Creve Coeur, Kirkwood-Webster Groves, and Ballwin-Chesterfield
2004 – Shirley Breeze, Ferguson-Florissant, and Shirl Garhart, Creve Coeur
2005 – Jean Shull, Kirkwood-Webster Groves
2006 – Ella M. Bettinger, St. Louis and Kirkwood-Webster Groves
2007 – Carol Davis McDonald, St. Louis and Kirkwood-Webster Groves
2008 – Julia Triplett, Ballwin-Chesterfield
2009 – Barbara Barnett, St. Charles, and Lynne Roney, Kirkwood-Webster Groves
2010 – A. Patricia Shores, Ballwin-Chesterfield
2011 – Betty Takahashi, St. Charles Branch
2012 – Diane B. Ludwig, formerly of St. Louis Branch and currently a member of        Columbia Branch
2013 – Barbara Butchart, Ballwin-Chesterfield Branch
2014 — Teri Brecht, St. Charles Branch
2015 – Debbie McWard, Creve Coeur, Ballwin-Chesterfield, and Kirkwood-Webster  Groves Branches
2016 – Jan Scott, St. Louis Branch
2017 – Kay Meyer, St. Louis, Kirkwood-Webster Groves, and Ballwin-Chesterfield Branches
2018 – Karen Francis, Ballwin-Chesterfield Branch
2019 – Marsha Koch, Kirkwood-Webster Groves and Ballwin-Chesterfield Branches
2020 – Mary Jermak, Ballwin-Chesterfield Branch