The Barbara Lackritz AAUW Service Award

At the “SWING INTO SPRING” (2022 IBC Barbara Lackritz Awards event) a delicious luncheon was served, awards were given, entertainment was enjoyed, and funds were raised!  A thoroughly successful event.

“Swing Into Spring” March 26, 2022, IBC Luncheon!    The IBC planning committee was pleased to see so many local members at the in-person IBC Spring Luncheon at Catering To You in Florissant on Saturday, March 26.  Attendees  celebrated our five Barbara Lackritz Honorees and were entertained by The Queens of Swing.  (See a program)

New this year: Each branch supported a Barbara Lackritz Honoree!  See pictures from the event.


See the 2021-2022 guidelines for branches to participate.

The purpose of the IBC Barbara Lackritz AAUW Award is to recognize the branch member who:

  1. Upholds the mission to advance gender equity for women and girls through research, education, and advocacy.
  2. Provides service to AAUW at any of the local, state, regional or national level(s).
  3. Provides leadership to AAUW at any of the local, state, regional or national level(s).
  4. Provides service and leadership in non-AAUW areas in the community, religious, professional, and/or political arenas.

Past Lackritz Awardees:

2003 – Barbara Lackritz, Creve Coeur, Kirkwood-Webster Groves, and Ballwin-Chesterfield
2004 – Shirley Breeze, Ferguson-Florissant, and Shirl Garhart, Creve Coeur
2005 – Jean Shull, Kirkwood-Webster Groves
2006 – Ella M. Bettinger, St. Louis and Kirkwood-Webster Groves
2007 – Carol Davis McDonald, St. Louis and Kirkwood-Webster Groves
2008 – Julia Triplett, Ballwin-Chesterfield
2009 – Barbara Barnett, St. Charles, and Lynne Roney, Kirkwood-Webster Groves
2010 – A. Patricia Shores, Ballwin-Chesterfield
2011 – Betty Takahashi, St. Charles Branch
2012 – Diane B. Ludwig, formerly of St. Louis Branch and currently a member of        Columbia Branch
2013 – Barbara Butchart, Ballwin-Chesterfield Branch
2014 — Teri Brecht, St. Charles Branch
2015 – Debbie McWard, Creve Coeur, Ballwin-Chesterfield, and Kirkwood-Webster  Groves Branches
2016 – Jan Scott, St. Louis Branch
2017 – Kay Meyer, St. Louis, Kirkwood-Webster Groves, and Ballwin-Chesterfield Branches
2018 – Karen Francis, Ballwin-Chesterfield Branch
2019 – Marsha Koch, Kirkwood-Webster Groves and Ballwin-Chesterfield Branches
2020 – Mary Jermak, Ballwin-Chesterfield Branch
2021     Canceled (COVID-19)
2022     Joyce Katz: Ballwin-Chesterfield
             Caroline Herkstroetter: Ferguson-Florissant
             Eugenia (Jeanne) Webdell: Kirkwood-Webster Groves
             Pam Kulp: St. Charles
             Sue Barley: St. Louis